Tenth conference on

Theoretical Aspects of Rationality and Knowledge



June 10-12, 2005


About the Conference

The mission of the TARK conferences is to bring together researchers from a wide ariety of fields, including Artificial Intelligence, Cryptography, Distributed Computing, Economics and Game Theory, Linguistics, Philosophy, and Psychology, in order to further our understanding of interdisciplinary issues nvolving reasoning about rationality and knowledge. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, semantic models for knowledge, belief, and uncertainty, bounded rationality and resource-bounded reasoning, commonsense epistemic reasoning, epistemic logic, knowledge and action, applications of reasoning about knowledge and other mental states, belief revision, and foundations of multi-agent systems.

TARK X will occur as part of an 8-week program "Uncertainty and Information in Economics", organized by the Institute for Mathematical Sciences (IMS), National University of Singapore in the period of 9 May - 3 July 2005. TARK X will take place in conjunction with a workshop in the program, which is to be held on 6-10 June 2005 (see http://www.ims.nus.edu.sg/Programs/uie/index.htm).

Invited Speakers and Tutorials

For a draft of the technical program, please click here.

In addition to the technical paper presentations, TARK IX will include also several invited talks and tutorials.

Invited speakers:

Program Committee

The members of the program committee and the disciplines they represent are:

Pierpaolo Battigalli, Bocconi University (Economics)
Larry Blume, Cornell University (Economics)
Adam Brandenburger, New York University (Economics)
Valentin Goranko, Rand Afrikaans University (Mathematics)
Vincent Hendricks, Roskilde University (Philosophy)
John Horty, University of Maryland (Philosophy)
Gerhard Lakemeyer, Aachen University of Technology (Computer Science)
Bart Lipman, Boston University (Economics)
David Makinson, Kings College London (Philosophy)
Ron van der Meyden (Chair), UNSW & NICTA (Computer Science)
Yoram Moses, The Technion (Computer Science)
Ramaswamy Ramanujam, Institute for Math Sciences, Chennai (Computer Science)
Robert van Rooy, University of Amsterdam (Linguistics)
Tuomas Sandholm, Carnegie Mellon University (Computer Science)
Wolfgang Spohn, University of Konstanz (Philosophy)

Conference Chair

Joseph Y. Halpern
Computer Science Department
Cornell University
Itacha, NY 14853
phone: (607)-255-9562
fax: (607)-255-4428
e-mail: halpern@cs.cornell.edu

Program Chair

Ron van der Meyden,
School of Computer Science and Engineering,
University of New South Wales,
and National ICT Australia
Sydney 2052
phone: +61 2 9385 4897
fax: +61 2 9385 5995
email: meyden@cse.unsw.edu.au

Local Arrangements

Krzysztof R. Apt
School of Computing
National University of Singapore
3 Science Drive 2
Republic of Singapore 117543
tel. 065-6874.4260
fax: 065-6779.4580
email: apt@comp.nus.edu.sg


Board of Directors